Contact: Mark Givens / 909-293-9270 /

Title: The Princess of Herself
Author: Roberta Allen
Category: Short Stories
Publication Date: September 20, 2017
Pages: 142
Binding: paperback
ISBN: 978-1-938349-70-6
Suggested Retail Price: $18.00

Claremont, CA – June 22, 2017 – Pelekinesis is pleased to announce the upcoming release of The Princess of Herself, new short stories from Roberta Allen, available September 20, 2017 worldwide.

With dark humor, the recurring characters in Roberta Allen's stories see themselves and others through distorting mirrors. The pain of never quite connecting is thrown into shadow as they go about their everyday lives and try to recapture their youth.

The Princess of Herself by Roberta Allen will be available through Small Press Distribution, Baker & Taylor, Bertrams, directly from the publisher's website, and in fine local bookstores worldwide.

The page at Pelekinesis for supplemental material is here:

For more information please contact Mark Givens at 909-293-9270 or

About the author

Roberta Allen is the author of nine books, including three collections of short fiction, The Traveling Woman (Vehicle Editions), Certain People (Coffee House Press) and The Princess of Herself (Pelekinesis); a novella in short short stories, The Daughter (Autonomedia); a memoir, Amazon Dream (City Lights); the novel The Dreaming Girl (Painted Leaf 2000, Ellipsis Press 2011); and several writing guides. Allen was on the faculty of The New School for many years and has also taught at Columbia University. She was a Tennessee Williams Fellow in Fiction and a Yaddo Fellow. Her conceptual art, exhibited internationally, is held in the collection of The Metropolitan Museum of Art.

More information can be found at

About the publisher

Pelekinesis is a small book publishing company focusing on the development of independent authors and artists by creatively embracing the evolving publishing paradigm and utilizing modern distribution platforms. Full catalog and press material can be found at


Supplemental Material

(click to download)