Contact: Mark Givens / 909-293-9270 /

Title: The Corridors of Longing
Author: Gary Fincke
Category: Fiction
Publication Date: October 12, 2022
Pages: 216
Binding: paperback
ISBN: 978-1-949790-72-6
Suggested Retail Price: $20.00

Claremont, CA – July 13, 2022 – Pelekinesis is pleased to announce the upcoming release of The Corridors of Longing, new fiction from Gary Fincke, available October 12, 2022 worldwide.

In the appropriately titled The Corridors of Longing, a wide variety of otherwise ordinary people anxiously face crucial choices. Personal trauma, anger, frustration, sexual desire, cultural shifts, work, and an assortment of other common issues are deepened and made singular, even in these very short stories, by the sharp focus of close observation.
In settings and situations that range from mid-20th century to the present, fathers and sons, mothers and daughters, friends and enemies alike are given unique voices. The heart of each story is found quickly and followed until something beyond the apparently familiar is made surprising, yet genuine. Despite their imperfections, the characters, through their struggles with understanding, reach moments of tolerance and sometimes, through perseverance, obtain compassion and even love.
Above all, despite how brief these stories are, they are nuanced and subtle. Instead of heroes and villains, there are characters who are complicated, with few exceptions, in less than a thousand words. In other words, they carry the weight of being human with varying degrees of success and failure. In other words, they are alive and demand our attention and respect.

The Corridors of Longing by Gary Fincke will be available through Small Press Distribution, Baker & Taylor, Ingram, Gardners, directly from the publisher's website, and in fine local bookstores worldwide.

The page at Pelekinesis for supplemental material is here:

For more information please contact Mark Givens at 909-293-9270 or

About the author

Since its inception, Gary Fincke has been co-editor (with Meg Pokrass) of the annual anthology Best Microfiction. His books have won the Flannery O’Connor Prize for Short Fiction, The Robert C. Jones Prize for Short Nonfiction Prose, and what is now the Wheeler Prize for Poetry. His latest collection of full-length stories is Nothing Falls from Nowhere (Stephen F. Austin, 2021). Besides having work chosen to appear in Best American Essays 2020 and Best Small Fictions 2020, he has recently published flash fiction at such sites as Craft, Wigleaf, Vestal Review, Atticus Review, Ghost Parachute, Pithead Chapel, New World Writing, and Flash Boulevard.

About the publisher

Pelekinesis is a small book publishing company focusing on the development of independent authors and artists by creatively embracing the evolving publishing paradigm and utilizing modern distribution platforms. Full catalog and press material can be found at


Supplemental Material

(click to download)